Winning the Lottery

 I recently read an article in the Vancouver Sun (a British Columbia, Canada newspaper) reporting on the success of Figureprints.  The article states there are still over 25,000 ‘potential customers’ waiting in their random drawing for the option to have their custom World of Warcraft toon three-dimensionally printed.

A few months ago, I was one of the winners of the drawing.  I paid my money (which has gone up by about $30 since then) and waited patiently.  .  Although I think it’s a bit funny that I only live fifteen minutes away from the location where the figures are made, about 6 weeks later the courier came calling.

In hindsight, I may have chosen a different pose than the one I did, but overall I am very happy with the whole process.   I was denied on a few drawings before I was chosen and the figure arrived at my house wrapped in enough bubble wrap to keep my daughter happy for hours and hours.

The overall feedback I get from friends usually revolves around the cost – from players and non-players.  Apparently paying $100 to have my character printed officially makes me a geek.  I’m ok with that.

~ by Robert Stewart on September 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
