Paid Faction Change

I posed a question at Blog Azeroth last month asking if, given the opportunity, players would change faction.  It has been made this week’s Shared Topic.

I have found a guild populated with some very friendly players who let me be casual while still letting me tag along to do content I otherwise wouldn’t see.  I don’t see myself moving far at this point, but I’m not opposed to the idea of faction change.  I have a mid-level horde mage on a role play server that is in a fantastic guild.  I haven’t played her for a long time, but the forum community she comes from still welcomes me.  What’s stopping me from moving my mage to alliance or my priest to horde?

Could this cause an imbalance in the Alliance/Horde numbers on each server and battlegroup?  The most likely direction for most switchers is Alliance to Horde.  While percentages of switchers would ultimately be the same, a larger Alliance population could mean a larger Alliance switch.  One percent of 7 million Alliance works out to be more people than one percent of 4 million Horde.  If anything, faction changes could actually better balance.

Moving Nigiri over to an RP server may have some implications.  Should I try to include this change in my back story and, if so, how?  The author of the Awakenings in Progress blog wrote a well thought out role play take on faction changes:  I’m Undercover.  With a little creativity, a story could be written for anyone.

But, on the subject of moving Nigiri (Alliance) over, is the question of economy.  I know that prices for items are higher on the Horde side (for the most part) since there are fewer Horde getting drops and crafting items.  I could easily buy out some crafting mats and hard to get items prior to switching and then reap the rewards!  Actually, this idea is a bit faulty too.  If I was the only one allowed to faction change, it might work.  Since everyone who moves could be doing the same thing, however, a lower priced economy would quickly follow across the board and few, if any, would get rich.

It will be interesting to see how Blizzard is going to implement this.  There are questions about mounts, reputations and faction specific quests that will need to be answered and issues ironed out.

Would I move Nigiri.  We’ll see.  It will be a while before this feature become available.  A lot can change in a few months.

~ by Robert Stewart on August 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Paid Faction Change”

  1. One thing to remember is that even though it more expensive to buy what you need on the AH, you can also sell the things you gather up at the new server for a higher price. The things that don’t change are the quest rewards.

    About the faction change…The only switch I think I’d be able to roleplay properly would be human or similar to undead.
    You might be able to explain it with magic that transfered the soul, and that you had either changed your mind, you’re being decieved or you belonged to the other faction originally. Just a few ideas. I don’t play on a RP server, so I don”t know exactly how it’s done.

  2. I’m tempted to make my Undead Priest into a gnome or similar at some point during the next expansion. Partly because I haven’t seriously played Horde since last summer and its unlikely that I will return to playing them at any point. I also know a couple of my guild mate’s friends/relations intend transferring from the Horde to play with us on the Alliance.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

